Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Looking for feedback on how to help grow the English WinDev developer base...

Posted by ScottG 
Looking for feedback on how to help grow the English WinDev developer base...
December 28, 2023 04:41PM
Happy holidays all.

I am the fella that spend a couple months making an English WinDev 26 tutorial a little over a year ago. Though my personal responsibilities to my family require me to take care of an elderly relative, I have about 23 years of IT experience and training that includes everything from where I started as a server / network engineer to later a software developer using a product that was (at the time but not any more) similar to WinDev called Magic Software (versions 8.3 - 9.3). What I can see with WinDev (and WebDev as well as WinDev Mobile), is that is appears to be every bit as good as the old Magic software I used if not better in several ways. Magic was / is based out of Israel where as PC SOFT is based out France. One thing that Magic did that helped grow their base was they had a free version that was limited only connecting to a local DB (Pervasive SQL), # of rows and #s of programs you could build. WinDev does release it's "Express" version but it usually releases the English version of it long behind the current version. As an example, the current Express version is about 2 versions behind.

The course I wrote for UDemy was using version 26 of the Express edition and was moderately well received. [www.udemy.com] but the videos I made we too long, the course was too long and most people complained that they wanted to learn the current version not 26 (28 was about to be released).