Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PRIVATE not really private ??

Posted by Sohan 
Sohan
PRIVATE not really private ??
September 30, 2008 06:26PM
Hi,

I recently found out that instances of the same class can read *and* write each other's PRIVATE members. Is this normal OOP?

Class Myclass
PRIVATE 
	myInt is int
END

PROCEDURE MyMethod(objMyClass)
oMySisterClass is MyClass dynamic = objMyClass	// pass some other instance of the same class
oMySisterClass:myInt++
This works! I was totally surprised to see this. Is it conform other object oriented languages, or is this specific Windev behaviour?

/sohan
Malc
Re: PRIVATE not really private ??
September 30, 2008 06:43PM
Hi Sohan

Just guessing here (I'm a beginner myself) but as parameters are passed by reference as a default, surely oMySisterClass is just a pointer to the class passed by parameter, rather than a new instance?

Cheers

Malc
Sohan
September 30, 2008 07:07PM

Sure, that is the whole idea. But why can I read/write the private members of the instance being passed? PRIVATE means private, right? Apparently not.

/sohan
Alexandre Leclerc
September 30, 2008 07:39PM
Hi Sohan,

If your procedure "MyMethod" is really a method of the class, this is correct OOP. The class know it's own structure. So your method can access private members of the class because it's the same class. The structure is known to itself.

Best regards.
Sohan
September 30, 2008 08:06PM
I can understand that its structure is known, but apparently its members are also accessible, for both read and write. It does not seem to matter that it is an entirely different instance. I am surprised.

I thought the whole idea of PRIVATE is to protect your members from 'unauthorized' access from outside. I guess that another instance of the same class is not considered to be 'outside' then.