Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

EDIFACT FILES

Posted by Gautam.pcs.crosspost 
Gautam.pcs.crosspost
EDIFACT FILES
August 04, 2008 06:35PM
Hello All

Has anyone used Windev to read edifact files? I am totally new to Edifact format so anyone out there who has used Windev and Edifact I would love to hear from you!
My initial thoughts are to try and convert Edifact to XML and then use Windev to read the XML file - any help in the right direction will be highly appreciated.

Thanks

Gautam

Message forwarded from pcsoft.us.windev
Jimbo
Re: EDIFACT FILES
August 04, 2008 09:24PM
Hi, I'm parsing EDIFACT files for quite some years now, not yet in Windev, but still in BASIC. The basic advice, however, remains to be the same.

0 - Do you know the basics? EDIFACT is standardized by the United Nations and therefore you'll find the specs here: [www.unece.org]
EDIFACT files can be represented either in a plain string or in XML-file, mostly sent / received by a web service. Neither of the two representations is easy to read. Ok, what's easy in our profession ..

1 - If the EDIFACT messages you expect seem too complicated then why not use one of the prefabricated EDIFACT-converters? They do not come cheap but its much faster to get something working. Integration of EDIFACT into an existing software application is still not easy and will take a lot of your time. See: [www.edifactory.de] (You can find a syntax checker there, just in case you're building EDIFACT strings and want to test for compliance)

2 - Most EDIFACT files of string-type should be short enough to be loaded into a string. From there, the parsing will take place.