Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Query question.

Posted by AadG 
Query question.
December 07, 2020 11:06AM
Hi all,

First, I'm a newbie to the use of queries. I always use hFilter, but run into some dificulties lately. So I want to replace
some hFilters with queries.

I want to filter a table and use parameter to change the value of the search. This works OK. How can I present the full table first,
before a change the value of the parameter ?? When I open the window with the table, it's empty until I put in a value
in the parameter. What I want is to see the full table first (all records) and then activate a search with the query.

I hope my question is a bit clear.

Best regards,

Aad
Re: Query question.
December 07, 2020 11:53AM
Hi Aad,

If a query parameter is Null then it will be ignored, the easiest way to do that is in the table initialization code like this:
IF chk_Filter1 then myQueryName.Param_1=Value1
IF chk_Filter2 then myQueryName.Param_2=Value2
hExecuteQuery(myQueryName,hQueryDefault)
Best regards,
Piet
December 07, 2020 12:38PM
Thanks Piet,

I use:

Kl_tab_vvCleunik_Query.ParamVVCLEUNIK = Null
HExecuteQuery(Kl_tab_vvCleunik_Query,hQueryDefault)

and the table is filled with al the records. I must say significantly slower then normal. Problem now is that if I pass a new value
to the parameter, the table is not refreshed with the new query. Am I forgetting something ?

Best regards,

Aad
Nick
December 07, 2020 01:41PM
Why displaying all the records first...and then filter ???
December 07, 2020 01:53PM
Because the table is a sub of another table. So when a record is choosen in the first table (file), the second table (file) shows all the related records. This only needs to be done if the users choose for a filter. So normally when the windows opens, all the records are shown in table2 and then gives the user the opportunity to filter table2 via table1.
Argus
December 07, 2020 02:08PM
> and the table is filled with al the records. I