Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[WD21] Clientcertificate in database

Posted by ChristineWagner 
[WD21] Clientcertificate in database
October 02, 2018 09:59AM
We will have a rest service (implemented from a third party but installed in a tomcat/apache we are configuring), which has to be secured as good as possible.
I'd like to admister each company (which is using the new feature) an own client-certificate. Ideally I'd like to load it into the software/database without them getting this certificate in their hands ever. So they can start our software over the network or directly on the pc (where it is installed) and (after checking their user rights) we load the certificate and access the rest service with it.
Now I'm not very good with this certificate functionality. But with WinDev I would call HTTPCertificate() before making the HTTPRequest. This will only work with an installed Client-Certificate, will it?
Does someone has an idea for a workaround so I do not have to install the certificate on each laptop? I don't want them to be able to access this rest service from a browser.

Thanks for your ideas!

Christine Wagner
Re: [WD21] Clientcertificate in database
October 02, 2018 01:12PM
Hi Christine

why do you want to use certificates?

Logically, the web service should have an authentication system built in (user+password or, in webservice lingo, ID+Secret key)

If that is the case, and it should, you just have to store these IDs inside your application DB (encrypted) of course, for each user/PC allowed to access the web service and pass the appropriate information during the first call in order to obtain a token for each subsequent call

Best regards

Fabrice Harari
International WinDev, WebDev and WinDev mobile Consulting

Free Video Courses, free WXShowroom.com, open source WXReplication, open
source WXEDM.

More information on [www.fabriceharari.com]
October 04, 2018 10:06AM
Hi Fabrice,

I had to ask back the details. We have two cases: