Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clarion vs WinDev

Posted by Raul Rego 
Raul Rego
Clarion vs WinDev
February 25, 2009 11:39PM
Any one here that has used Clarion and is now using Windev? Any pro/cons.

I love clarion because of the RAD features. Most of my APPS probably have 25% or less of manual code. All other come from the Application develover.

Does WinDev create stand alone executables?

Thanks,

Raul Rego
rrego@njpies.org
Ruben Sanchez Peña
Re: Clarion vs WinDev
February 26, 2009 02:17AM
Hi Raul. Your question is very frecuent in this forum.

I was a 14 year Clarion developer. Clarion stay on "stone age". It hasn't changed in ten years, and now all the other tools use "templates" to generate code and write less code. No advantage.

No current advantage using RAD features of Clarion over Windev. Windev can generate a complete RAD application like Clarion. The "standard" Clarion Templates generate a very poor and static application. Only the access to data and Window management. If you want make "serious" applications you must write a lot of code or buy more templates. I bought much templates for my applications when i use Clarion.

Windev has a diferent point of view. The Clarion "Template" paradigm is changed in Windev by a "function/library" paradigm. The most important Templates of Clarion are included with Windev like library of functions. Clarion ABC templates generate the same code lines each time you generate a new application.... The developer don't use this code, but it must be supported with application. In Windev you only write the code lines needed for your application. Easy maintenance, easy read and easy change.

The Windev IDE is perfect to write, debug, optimize, distribute and evolute your application. The Clarion IDE is a painful software editor: no intellisense, no Activex support, 16 bits, ...

My Windev application can use .NET libraries. I can generate JAVA applications with RAD, ....