Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Analysis import of MSSQL Indexes

Posted by Jeff Graham 
Jeff Graham
Analysis import of MSSQL Indexes
December 17, 2008 12:50AM
Hi All,

I am accessing several tables from a complex MS SQL Server database for Visual Manufacturing. I am using OLE DB driver as I don't have the Native.

In the MSSQL management console, the table has keys and indexes shown. The indexes have composite keys that I would like to use. When I import the table into the analysis, the indexes are not included as fields.

Also, for one table, one of the keys and one of the indexes have the same name.The key is like an automatic ID and the index is a composite key of 5 non-key fields. The composite key is "clustered".

Many of the tables have the same 5 non-key fields that link them and you can't create a WinDev analysis link with non-key fields.

Any suggestions or links to reference sources would be appreciated. I am a SQL novice.

Jeff
David Egan
Re: Analysis import of MSSQL Indexes
December 17, 2008 05:15AM
Hi Jeff
I guess it depends on exactly what you need to do! A large part of our work is with MSSQL via OLEDB and we use mainly straight SQL commands & HExecuteSQLQuery or SQLManagerX to access the underlying tables directly. Given that, the analysis is irrelevant as far as normal processing is concerned and in fact, unless we are supplying Reports & Queries with the app we don't bother generating an analysis in Windev at all.

HTH

David

Firetox
December 17, 2008 11:31AM
hello

indexes are not in SGBD or more generaly in SQL an existance like windev do with composite key. this indexes are use by the server for optimized acces to data. windev use composite key like a field because it's not a real SGBD in SQL composité key are indexe instead of in windev it's must be a field for acceding the data.

David is right when he say that import analysis in windev could make some mistake.