Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hyper File View,Memory Zone or?

Posted by Paul Ziegler 
Paul Ziegler
Hyper File View,Memory Zone or?
November 06, 2008 09:57PM
I am just starting to learn how to do reports in WD. I need to present my clients with report data selections: Gender,School,Class,Program,Age,etc. Depending on what they select, I will need to get the records and sort them before I call the report. In my old design tool, I would use sets (union, intersection, etc.). What is the best way to do this in WD? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Milton
Re: Hyper File View,Memory Zone or?
November 06, 2008 10:11PM
Hi Paul,

You can do all of this with Queries. You construct a query to join tables on common keys and also include any filters. Queries are fast and flexible and can be fed from user entered parameters.

Milton
Paul Ziegler
November 06, 2008 11:48PM
Milton,

My clients will need to be able to select from 1 to say 30 different classes or other criteria. They may select 12 classes out of 30. How could I handle this with a Query?

Thanks,
Paul
Louis Verbraak
November 07, 2008 08:41AM
Hello Paul,

Parameters which get the value 'Null' are ignored by the query.

HTH.
Piet van Zanten
November 07, 2008 10:24AM
Hi Paul,

In case of different sorts and selections I would prefer using a report based on a memory zone. No parameters to pass to the report, just the memory zone. You control selection and sorting completely from programming.
This is a personal preference, I'm not a query wizzard, so if it get's complicated I always resort to Wlanguage coding. For the easy stuff I use queries.

Regards,
Piet
Paul Ziegler
November 07, 2008 05:09PM