Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Webserver number of users

Posted by ArieM 
Webserver number of users
April 23, 2021 12:09PM
Hi all,

I have an fieldservice app running, communicating with a AWP page to sync data. Every connection starts a wdsession process on the webserver. It's a dedicated webserver. The data itself comes from a MSSQL server, locatd on aother machine.

Every now and then we face a 100% CPU usage on the webserver. I see about 15 concurrent users all eating between 1-10%% CPU. The rest is in use by de OS (Windows).

As I am not an expert on this, so what can I do about this, so
- is an AWP page CPU consuming?
- would a change to a REST webservice make any difference
- do we just need more CPU's?
- how are webservers sized when hundreds of users are connecting?

The server now has 2 Intel Xeon 8171M CPU's on 2.6GHz

Any input would be welcome.

Arie
Argus
Re: Webserver number of users
April 23, 2021 02:10PM
- is an AWP page CPU consuming?

No... I'm using Fabrice's WXReplication a LOT, and it is working with an awp page too... No problem like that EVER.

- would a change to a REST webservice make any difference

No... It's the same thing, just packaged by PCSoft after years of hearing its user doing rest webservices with a simple awp page

- do we just need more CPU's?

No, you first need to figure out what the problem is...

- how are webservers sized when hundreds of users are connecting?

By reacting when there is a problem, most of the time.

So, no, the problem is NOT awp/rest... it COULD be the webdev engine, as this kind of problem has been reported before. From the top of my head, the solution was to deactivate some options (statistics, optimisation, or something of the sort). There is a post on the support blog about it, with all the details.