Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Templates, RAD or something else...?

Posted by DarrenF 
DarrenF
Templates, RAD or something else...?
October 30, 2008 03:40PM
Hi all,

I have some general(ish) questions about the best way to develop in WD with reuseability and efficiency in mind. I was hoping to use RAD (and still may do that), and now I'm looking into the possiblities of using templates to code a large %age of my windows..

What's the general consensus out there on the most efficient and effective way to develop...?

Many people out there don't seem to use RAD... is that because it's too complex or because you've already got established systems written some other way?

I'm just starting out developing my system and I'm currently looking at templates, but there seem to be many limitations - for instance, if you have some code in a button event for example, the code is locked and you can't really insert lines of code "here and there" where you'd like (unless I'm missing something), so my question here is do people use templates and if so, do they tend to unlock the widnow from the template so they can code it fully?

Do people out there use the Code Bricks features?

Oh, so many questions... winking smiley

Thanks in advance for any feedback...
Louis Verbraak
Re: Templates, RAD or something else...?
October 30, 2008 04:57PM
Hello Darren,

I don't use RAD but I use templates. You can overload each control of the template by right-clicking it and choose 'Overload the control'. After taht you get your own events where the 'parent-event'is triggered (ExecuteAncestor). You can place code before and.or after that statement.

HTH.
DarrenF
October 30, 2008 06:22PM
Hi Louis,

Thanks for replying...

Yes, I've been looking into templates and the Overload feature. It's a pity that the template code isn't at a line level, as I'd like to put as much code as possible in the template and "slot" my code in (as I say) "here and there".