Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[WM] Android 8 background processing

Posted by apredl 
[WM] Android 8 background processing
December 15, 2018 12:30PM
Hi @everyone,

I have a litte (for me big) problem with a Android 8 mobile device, since Android 4.1 everything works find with Android, but now I have lots of problems with background processing, my APP stops working in background for 5-10 minutes if the user puts the device in standby....

It is a HFSQL connection with self made synchronization, it works fine until Android 8... I confirmed, that in Android 7.1 it works and in Android 8 it stops in background processing for a long time (only if I uncheck background monitoring for the APP, if I don't do that, the APP stops working at all!)

I read in https://www.dev-insider.de/background-execution-limits-in-android-oreo-a-660498/ (website is in german) that we must use "JobScheduler" or "Firebase JobDispatcher" or "Android-Job-library of Evernote"...

So my question is, should I contact PcSoft or had someone the same problem, a solution and can help me??

yours
Alexander Predl
Stefan Kern
Re: [WM] Android 8 background processing
December 16, 2018 07:21PM
Hi Alex,

have a look at BackgroundtaskAdd()

[help.windev.com]

From the help:

The task will be run when the application is not started or when the application is in background. If the application is displayed in the foreground, its execution will be postponed.

Best Regards

Stefan.
December 17, 2018 06:30PM
Hi Stefan,

really thx for reply, I found the BackgroundTaskAdd() too, but our app needs 1-2 second respond, not every 5-15 minutes respond... so our APP worked since Android 7.1 which I tested hours and hours. With our new Android 8.0 phones I can set background processing to not watching and power control to "can use energy as much as needed" but there is anyway a delay of 5-10 minutes, then a "roundtrip" of synchronisation is made...